The Seven Days of the Week

The Seven Days of the Week The seven days of the week are named in honour of the Sun, the Moon and five planets. The five planets are Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter and Saturn. These were the planets the people of ancient times knew about. The sun, the moon and five planets were supposed to take turns ruling over the days. The seven days from the sun’s day to the sun’s day became the week.

Sunday is the Sun’s day.
Monday is the Moon’s day.
Saturday is Saturn’s day (the Roman god of wealth, agriculture, etc.).
Tuesday is Mars’ day (the Roman god of war).
Wednesday is Mercury’s day (the Roman god of financial gain, communication, etc.).
Thursday is Jupiter’s day (the Roman king of gods).
Friday is Venus’ day (the Roman goddess of beauty).

Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday and Friday do not sound like Mars’ day, Mercury’s day, Jupiter’s day and Venus’ day. Only Saturday sounds like Saturn.It is well-known that in the English language there are many words of German origin including Scandinavian.
The old Norse (Scandinavian) gods and goddesses were very much the same as the Roman ones. But they had different names Tyr, Woden, Thor and Frigg. So the names Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday and Friday came from Norse gods:

Tuesday is Tyr’s day.
Wednesday is Woden’s day.
Thursday is Thor’s day.
Friday is Frigg’s day.

There is no reason why we have seven days in a week. We could have had any numbers of days we liked. If ancient people had known about Uranus, Neptune or Pluto, we might have ten days in a week instead of seven. But we are so used to seven now that not a lot of people would want have changes.